Spain win the 2008 Davis Cup

Published on November 23rd, 2008

Spanish Davis Cup team

Spain’s Fernando Verdasco won against Argentina’s Jose Acasuso with a 6-3 6-7 4-6 6-3 6-1 score, which brought the total scoreline to 4-1 for Spain and made them Davis Cup champions for 2008.

This match should have been a meeting between Ferrer and Del Potro, but became the Acasuso – Verdasco match.

Verdasco also played yesterday in the doubles match along with Feliciano Lopez, a match also won by the Spaniards.

If Acasuso were to have won the match, then a deciding match would have been played, were David Nalbandian would have played Feliciano Lopez.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply